Personal Branding Using Social Media: How To

For the last few weeks I have been trying to understand how to use social media for personal branding. It is interesting to note that when we graduated from college 20 years ago there was very little we could do to brand ourselves. The most sophisticated practice was to print a resume on a laser printer (wasn’t that cool??) and snail-mail it to companies (yes, we mailed the resume to many companies hoping that a few would give us the opportunity to interview with them).

Fast forward to now and look at the plethora of ways in which we can market ourselves  – Facebook, Myspace, LinkedIn, Twitter, Blogs, Scribd etc. Marketing has been democratized – it’s marketing for the people and by the people! Social media is just that – we control the distribution of information as opposed to traditional media (e.g., newspapers, TV, radio etc.) where corporations control the distribution.

So, I asked myself: what is the most efficient way in which I can market myself:
– what tools should I use
– what should be my strategy

Here is what I came up with:

(1) CONSISTENT MESSAGING: have a consistent message across all the tools (i.e., whether you are on Twitter &/or Facebook &/or LinkedIn, you should have the same message that briefly summarizes who you are, what you can do etc.)

(2) FEW KEY TOOLS: use a few different platforms. For example, I use the following

– LinkedIn
– Twitter
– Blog
– My company website

(3) STREAMLINE NAVIGATION: ensure that regardless of which platform your viewer accesses, he/she can easily access all sources of information on you. In my case, here is the navigation for each tool:

(i) LinkedIn (has links to my Twitter, Blog and Company)
(ii) Twitter (has links to my LinkedIn)
(iii) Blog (has links to my LinkedIn, Blog and Company)

Since each site has a different type of information, a reader (e.g., recruiter, hiring manager, decision maker) can access any of my sites and easily go to the other sites to get a complete view of who I am and what I have done (LinkedIn) as well as what I am thinking of and writing about now (Twitter and blog respectively).

So, to summarize:

(1) use a few different tools
(2) have a consistent message across the tools
(3) provide links to all the tools/sites

I hope this gives you some tips on how you can use social media to brand yourself.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

2 Responses to “Personal Branding Using Social Media: How To”

  1. Betty Feng Says:

    Excellent summary and that is exactly what I’m doing now for self-branding through Blog, LinkedIn and Twitter. One more to add on top of all a/m is persistence. A quality brand is not built in short-time and needs long-time hard working and persistence to make each individual shine.

    • Yes, I completely agree with your point about being persistent. I am learning that social media marketing is about building relationships and trust. The process takes a long time. Good luck with your efforts.

Leave a Reply

